FCS Final Four – No Drama!

       VS.       

     VS.      

While our friends in I-A spend another postseason having the same argument that a playoff system needs to be implemented, we lucky I-AA’ers get to enjoy that luxury. I’m sure all of you have friends that went to I-A schools who are extremely jealous of us at this point of the season. Being from the DC area, I know a ton of people from Virginia Tech who are so upset that they don’t get a shot at the national title. Hey guys, what can I say? Blame the system and hope that the “Plus 1” system(courtesy NY Post) comes sooner than later or you’ll be having this conversation at this time every year. 

Meanwhile, I-AA has had quite an exciting postseason so far. I got a chance to watch both the Eastern Washington/App State and Delaware/N. Iowa games and they were both thrillers.  I give a lot of credit to the Mountaineers for silencing critics (including me) who thought they wouldn’t be able to handle the high powered Eagle offense as they jumped out to a big lead and held on for a 38-35 victory.  Also, what an impressive performance by the best offensive tandem in the country of QB Joe Flacco and RB Omar Cuff as they quieted the UNI dome and sent the #1 ranked Panthers packing 39-27.

Meanwhile, in the more conventional games, Southern Illinois methodically took care of business at home once again by taking down last year’s runner up UMass 34-27. Nick Hill was once again on his game and I cannot wait to watch two juggernaut offenses square off this Saturday in Carbondale when Hill’s Salukis meet Delaware.  Also, Richmond kept CAA hopes for a national title alive as well by throttling Wofford in Spartanburg 21-10. While I’m sure a lot of people were hoping for a Southern conference rematch between the Terriers and App State, I’m very intrigued as to how this Richmond Spider team will fare in Boone with the crowd noise and facing its toughest test of the season.  Armanti Edwards and Kevin Richardson vs. Eric Ward and Tim Hightower should be a very entertaining chess match.  They run a similar offense and it will be up to the opposing defenses to decide this.

Predictions:

Southern Illinois vs. Delaware, Dec 8, 4 pm ESPN/ESPNHD –  This is where it gets so tough to predict with how even the teams have become.  I picked Delaware in the upset last week and there’s no reason to change that now. I think Flacco and Cuff are just on another planet right now and there is nothing that can stand in their way.  It will be a closer one than last week though.   Fightin’ Blue Hens 31, Salukis 27

Appalachian State vs. Richmond, Dec 8, 8 pm, ESPN2/ESPN2HD – I love Richmond and think they are playing at an extremely high level right now. That being said, Appalachian State isn’t the two time defending champs for nothing plus they shut me up last week by getting past EWU. The Mountaineers haven’t lost a playoff game in over two years now and that’s a streak that I can’t bet against.  Mountaineers 27, Spiders 23

Leave a Reply

